Make your own free website on

Northeast Racing Stats Central

Phil Scott
Latest News and Updates
ACT Index
Série ACT Castrol Index
IPSC Index
Modified Racing Series Index
PASS Index
PRO Truck Tour Index
Stock Car Connection Index
Airborne Speedway Index
Bear Ridge Speedway Index
Catamount Stadium Index
Devil's Bowl Speedway Index
Northeastern Speedway Index
Thunder Road Index
WMMP Index
Major Events
Driver Profiles
Classic Vermont
Classic Québec/Ontario
Miscellaneous Stuff
Justin's Stories/Photos
The Archives
Racing Photos
About the Editor/Dedication

"The Sailing Senator" Phil Scott

Hometown: Barre, VT
Residence: Middlesex, VT
DOB: 8/04/58
Began racing: 1991, Thunder Road (Barre, VT)
Retired: n/a
Nicknames: "Flying Phil", "The Sailing Senator"

Best known for: Thunder Road domination in mid-to-late 1990s and early 2000s
Career Highlights: Three-time "King of the Road"; 2002 ACT Late Model Tour champion; 2002 Airborne Speedway champion; two-time Milk Bowl winner; has won five of ACT's six biggest events at least once; lost 2003 Thunder Road championship in a tie-breaker; made only NASCAR Busch East Series start (to date) at Thunder Road in 2003; used Thunder Road popularity to help win a three-term seat (so far) in Vermont State Senate (R-Washington County); Don MacTavish Award winner (2005)

Series Championships
  • 2002 ACT Late Model Tour

Track Championships
  • 1996 Thunder Road Speedbowl (VT) Late Model division
  • 1998 Thunder Road Speedbowl (VT) Late Model division
  • 2002 Airborne Int'l Raceway (NY) Late Model division
  • 2002 Thunder Road Speedbowl (VT) Late Model division

Major Event Victories
  • 9 ACT Late Model Tour victories
  • Fall Foliage 200 - Airborne Speedway (1998)
  • Memorial Day Classic - Thunder Road (1999)
  • Merchants Bank 150 - Thunder Road (1999)
  • Remington "4-10" Shootout - Airborne Speedway (2001-02)
  • Spring Green 100 - Airborne Speedway (2000)
  • Vermont Milk Bowl - Thunder Road (1997, 2000)

Special Honors

  • Don MacTavish Award - 2005

DISCLAIMER: Many of the photos on this website have been used without prior permission, and for that, we're sorry.  For the ones we did ask to use, thanks a ton!  Proper credit is due every photographer, but since tagging every single shot would take a really long time, and we've forgotten a lot of who took what, let's just thank everyone who has "helped" out now: Alan Ward, Eric LaFleche/, Gene Gagne/, Leif Tillotson, Brian McCullough (RACEGOD), the late David Heath, Dave Brown, Cindy Weed, John Sullivan, Norm Marx, Bethany Bell,, the late Bob Doyle, Ron Pittsley, David Paris, Jim DuPont, Tom Herzig, and myriad others.  A huge thanks goes out to contributors Andy Boright, the late Cho Lee, and Christian "Ti Gaz" Genest, all treasurers of racing history.  You're all awesome and very much appreciated!!!
--- Website updated and maintained in memory of Cho Lee ---