Make your own free website on

Northeast Racing Stats Central

Flying Tigers
Latest News and Updates
ACT Index
Série ACT Castrol Index
IPSC Index
Modified Racing Series Index
PASS Index
PRO Truck Tour Index
Stock Car Connection Index
Airborne Speedway Index
Bear Ridge Speedway Index
Catamount Stadium Index
Devil's Bowl Speedway Index
Northeastern Speedway Index
Thunder Road Index
WMMP Index
Major Events
Driver Profiles
Classic Vermont
Classic Québec/Ontario
Miscellaneous Stuff
Justin's Stories/Photos
The Archives
Racing Photos
About the Editor/Dedication

Thunder Road Flying Tiger division feature event winners and champions, 1963-1969.  Also known as Semi-Late Models (4 events in 1963) and Novice division (10 events in 1964).  Began racing regular weekly events in 1965 as Flying Tigers, became "A" division class in 1966.  Some records disputed and incomplete, research still in progress.

1963 - no champion crowned
1964 - unknown - either Bill White or Stub Fadden
1965 - unknown - possibly Dick Southworth 

Larry Demar - 9
Clem Despault - 9
Russ Ingerson - 9
Tom Tiller - 7
Stub Fadden - 6
Lennie Stockwell - 4
Mike Beattie - 3
Moe Dubois - 3
Jimmy Gates - 3
George Horne - 3
Doug Ingerson - 3
Bill White - 3
Bobby Dragon - 2
Johnny Gammell - 2
Mert Hall - 2
Lee Ingerson - 2
Dick Southworth - 2
Ron Barcomb - 1
Ken Blondin - 1
Bob Brunell - 1
Norm Burl - 1
Joe Couture - 1
Cuffy Cuthbertson - 1
Jerry Dennis - 1
Ed Doggett - 1
Beaver Dragon - 1
Joe Fadden - 1
Bob Fortin - 1
Larry Granger - 1
Jim LaFountain - 1
Freddie Mills - 1
Henry Montandon - 1
Wayne True - 1
Karl Wendell - 1
Red Wilford - 1

Date Winner              Hometown
7/18  Bill White               Haverhill, NH
8/08  Bill White               Haverhill, NH
9/08  Wayne True
10/06 Stub Fadden          North Haverhill, NH


Date Winner              Hometown
5/16  Norm Burl              Plattsburgh, NY
5/23  Jim LaFountain
5/30  Dick Southworth
6/06  Bob Brunell            Plattsburgh, NY
6/17  Beaver Dragon        Milton, VT
6/24  George Horne         St. Johnsbury, VT
7/01  Stub Fadden          North Haverhill, NH
7/04  Mike Beattie
7/08  Bob Fortin
7/15  Freddie Mills          Groveton, NH
7/29  Lennie Stockwell    Bethel, VT
8/05  Dick Southworth
8/12  Joe Fadden
8/19  Stub Fadden          North Haverhill, NH
8/28  Lee Ingerson          Jefferson, NH
9/02  George Horne         St. Johnsbury, VT
9/05  Mike Beattie
9/19  George Horne         St. Johnsbury, VT


Date Winner              Hometown
6/03  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
6/10  Clem Despault       Waterbury, VT
6/24  Clem Despault       Waterbury, VT
7/01  Johnny Gammell    St. Johnsbury, VT
7/04  Clem Despault       Waterbury, VT
7/08  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
7/22  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
7/29  Doug Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
(Mid-Season Championship)
8/05  Tom Tiller               Essex Jct., VT
8/12  Doug Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
8/26  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
9/02  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
(Labor Day Classic)
9/16  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
(Vermont Milk Bowl)


Date Winner              Hometown
5/17  Doug Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
(Triple Crown)
5/26  Moe Dubois           Hinesburg, VT
6/02  Bobby Dragon        Milton, VT
(Memorial Day Classic - Triple Crown)
6/07  Tom Tiller              Essex Jct., VT
6/17  Clem Despault       Waterbury, VT
6/21  Tom Tiller              Essex Jct., VT
6/28  Bobby Dragon        Milton, VT
7/05  Clem Despault       Waterbury, VT
7/12  Ed Doggett            Plymouth, NH
(Thunder Road 10th Anniversary event - Triple Crown)
7/19  Moe Dubois           Hinesburg, VT
7/29  Lennie Stockwell    Bethel, VT
(Mid-Season Championship, rained out 7/26)
8/02  Jim Gates              Hardwick, VT
8/09  Jim Gates              Hardwick, VT
8/16  Clem Despault       Waterbury, VT
8/23  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
9/01  Moe Dubois           Hinesburg, VT
(Labor Day Classic)
9/07  Johnny Gammell    St. Johnsbury, VT
(Vermont Milk Bowl)

Date Winner              Hometown
7/30  Ken Blondin
8/06  Mert Hall
8/13  Mert Hall
8/20  Karl Wendell
8/27  Clem Despault        Waterbury, VT
9/03  Joe Couture            Malletts Bay, VT
9/06  Bill White               Haverhill, NH
9/13  Stub Fadden          North Haverhill, NH
9/27  Stub Fadden          North Haverhill, NH
10/11  Jerry Dennis

Date Winner              Hometown
7/16  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
7/23  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
7/30  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
8/06  Mike Beattie          NH
8/13  Lennie Stockwell    Bethel, VT
(Mid-Season Championship)
8/20  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
(Triple Crown winner)
9/03  Larry Demar           Hardwick, VT
(Labor Day Classic)
9/10  Lee Ingerson          North Haverhill, NH
9/17  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
9/24  Clem Despault       Waterbury, VT
10/02  Henry Montandon  West Topsham, VT
10/09 - Milk Bowl - unofficial
There is much confusion about the 1966 season at Thunder Road.  There was a drivers' strike before the opening event of the year, and for many years it was believed to have taken place throughout the entire season.  However, in my research I found that the season started in July and ran through early October.  There was also rumored to be a strike near the mid-way point of the '66 campaign, which was to effectively end the racing season at that point.  That also never happened.  In fact, contrary to what has been published for decades, there is evidence that the 1966 Milk Bowl was also in fact run, as the 12th and final event of the season.  Race dates, official finishes, and point standings have been very hard to come by for this season, but the newspaper clippings and photos do exist.  Some of the things I uncovered could dramatically change the written history of not just the Milk Bowl, but of Thunder Road as well.  Rather than rock the boat too soon, I will wait and figure the Milk Bowl thing out later.  At least one solid thing is for sure: Larry Demar dominated the season and was in fact the Flying Tiger "King of the Road" for 1966.


Date Winner              Hometown
5/25  Lennie Stockwell    Bethel, VT
5/31  Ron Barcomb         Colchester, VT
(Memorial Day Classic)
6/08  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
6/15  Clem Despault        Waterbury, VT
6/22  Tom Tiller               Essex Jct., VT
6/29  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
7/04  Stub Fadden          North Haverhill, NH
7/13  Tom Tiller               Essex Jct., VT
7/20  Cuffy Cuthbertson
7/27  Tom Tiller               Essex Jct., VT
(Mid-Season Championship)
8/03  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
8/10  Red Wilford
8/24  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
8/24  Jimmy Gates         Hardwick, VT
8/31  Tom Tiller               Essex Jct., VT
9/01  Larry Granger         Barre, VT
9/07  Russ Ingerson        North Haverhill, NH
(Vermont Milk Bowl)

DISCLAIMER: Many of the photos on this website have been used without prior permission, and for that, we're sorry.  For the ones we did ask to use, thanks a ton!  Proper credit is due every photographer, but since tagging every single shot would take a really long time, and we've forgotten a lot of who took what, let's just thank everyone who has "helped" out now: Alan Ward, Eric LaFleche/, Gene Gagne/, Leif Tillotson, Brian McCullough (RACEGOD), the late David Heath, Dave Brown, Cindy Weed, John Sullivan, Norm Marx, Bethany Bell,, the late Bob Doyle, Ron Pittsley, David Paris, Jim DuPont, Tom Herzig, and myriad others.  A huge thanks goes out to contributors Andy Boright, the late Cho Lee, and Christian "Ti Gaz" Genest, all treasurers of racing history.  You're all awesome and very much appreciated!!!
--- Website updated and maintained in memory of Cho Lee ---