Make your own free website on

Northeast Racing Stats Central

Vermont Governor's Cup
Latest News and Updates
ACT Index
Série ACT Castrol Index
IPSC Index
Modified Racing Series Index
PASS Index
PRO Truck Tour Index
Stock Car Connection Index
Airborne Speedway Index
Bear Ridge Speedway Index
Catamount Stadium Index
Devil's Bowl Speedway Index
Northeastern Speedway Index
Thunder Road Index
WMMP Index
Major Events
Driver Profiles
Classic Vermont
Classic Québec/Ontario
Miscellaneous Stuff
Justin's Stories/Photos
The Archives
Racing Photos
About the Editor/Dedication

Vermont Governor's Cup champions, 1961-2012.  The Governor's Cup event bounced back and forth between Thunder Road and Catamount Stadium for many years, and has showcased several divisions and touring series.  We're pretty sure we've got all of the Governor's Cup races covered here, but research is still ongoing. 

Year  Winner              Hometown           Division                     Track
1961 Mike Osborne      Barre, VT              Sportsman Coupe         Thunder Road
1962 Freddie Mills        Groveton, NH       Sportsman Coupe         Thunder Road
1963 Harold Hanaford  Plymouth, NH       Sportsman Coupe         Thunder Road
1964 Tony Colicchio     Barre, VT             Sportsman Coupe         Thunder Road
1965 No event
1966 Rene Charland     Agawam, MA        Modified                      Catamount
1967 Andre Manny       Montreal, QC        Modified                      Catamount
1968 Bugs Stevens       Rehoboth, MA      Modified                       Catamount
1969 No event
1970 No event
1971 Jean-Paul Cabana  Sherrington, QC  Late Model Sportsman  Thunder Road
1972 No event
1973 Dave Dion           Hudson, NH        Late Model Sportsman   Catamount
1974 Joey Kourafas     Sharon, MA          Late Model Sportsman   Thunder Road
1975 Bobby Dragon     Milton, VT             Late Model Sportsman   Thunder Road
1976 Dave Dion           Hudson, NH        Late Model Sportsman   Thunder Road
1977 Dick McCabe       Kennebunk, ME   Late Model Sportsman   Thunder Road
1978 No event
1979 Bobby Dragon     Milton, VT             NASCAR North Tour     Catamount
1980 Robbie Crouch    Tampa, FL            NASCAR North Tour     Catamount
1981 Stub Fadden       No. Haverhill, NH  NASCAR North Tour     Catamount
1982 Steve Poulin       North Troy, VT       NASCAR North Tour    Catamount
1983 Jamie Aube        No. Ferrisburg, VT  NASCAR North Tour    Catamount
1984 Robbie Crouch    Tampa, FL            NASCAR North Tour    Thunder Road
1985 Bobby Dragon     Milton, VT             NASCAR North Tour    Catamount
1986 Robbie Crouch    Tampa, FL            ACT Pro Stock Tour     Catamount
1987 Robbie Crouch    Tampa, FL            ACT Pro Stock Tour     Catamount
1988 Jim Cilley           Groton, VT            Tiger Sportsman          Thunder Road
1989 Dave Dion          Hudson, NH          ACT Pro Stock Tour      Thunder Road
1990-2004 - No event
2005 Cooper MacRitchie   Williamstown, VT   Late Model           Thunder Road
2006 Eric Williams        Hyde Park, VT     Late Model                  Thunder Road
2007 Eric Williams        Hyde Park, VT     Late Model                  Thunder Road
2008 Cris Michaud        Northfield, VT     Late Model                   Thunder Road
2009 Joey Polewarczyk  Hudson, NH        Late Model                  Thunder Road
2010 Nick Sweet           Barre, VT             Late Model                  Thunder Road
2011 John Donahue     Graniteville, VT   Late Model                  Thunder Road
2012 Nick Sweet           Barre, VT             Late Model                  Thunder Road

Robbie Crouch - 4
Dave Dion - 3
Bobby Dragon - 3
Nick Sweet - 2
Eric Williams - 2
Jamie Aube - 1
Jean-Paul Cabana - 1
Rene Charland - 1
Jim Cilley - 1
Tony Colicchio - 1
John Donahue - 1
Stub Fadden - 1
Harold Hanaford - 1
Joey Kourafas - 1
Cooper MacRitchie - 1
Andre Manny - 1
Dick McCabe - 1
Cris Michaud - 1
Freddie Mills - 1
Mike Osborne - 1
Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. - 1
Steve Poulin - 1
Bugs Stevens - 1

Enter content here

DISCLAIMER: Many of the photos on this website have been used without prior permission, and for that, we're sorry.  For the ones we did ask to use, thanks a ton!  Proper credit is due every photographer, but since tagging every single shot would take a really long time, and we've forgotten a lot of who took what, let's just thank everyone who has "helped" out now: Alan Ward, Eric LaFleche/, Gene Gagne/, Leif Tillotson, Brian McCullough (RACEGOD), the late David Heath, Dave Brown, Cindy Weed, John Sullivan, Norm Marx, Bethany Bell,, the late Bob Doyle, Ron Pittsley, David Paris, Jim DuPont, Tom Herzig, and myriad others.  A huge thanks goes out to contributors Andy Boright, the late Cho Lee, and Christian "Ti Gaz" Genest, all treasurers of racing history.  You're all awesome and very much appreciated!!!
--- Website updated and maintained in memory of Cho Lee ---